Skip to Main Content


Spirit of MTI Awards Announced

Friday, May 8, 2020

The twenty-first annual Spirit of MTI awards were announced on Mitchell Technical Institute’s graduation day, May 8. Faculty members annually select one student graduating from each program for the honor. Students are chosen as the graduates who best embody the “spirit” of MTI and exemplify their chosen occupation through study, hard work, reliability, contribution to their program, and future potential in their employment field.

2020 recipients include:


Estefani Estrada, Huron

Agricultural Business

Blake Kontz, Flandreau


Ian Hoarty, Wessington Springs

Animal Science

Noah Schenkel, Tyndall

Automation Controls/SCADA

Rease Logan, Gettysburg

Architectural Design & Building Construction

Joseph Beaner, Canistota

Business Management

Lane Wesseling, Plankinton

Culinary Academy

Jacie Teller, Buffalo

Diesel Power Technology

Santanya Matucha, Burke

Electrical Construction & Maintenance

Skyler Niemann, Watertown

Electrical Utilities & Substation Technology

James Gengler, Salix, IA

GPS/GIS Mapping Technology

Adam Trimble, Belle Fourche

Heating & Cooling Technology

Alex Schaeffer, Winner

Human Services Technician

Mason Ottoson, Chester

Information Systems Technology

Jonah Zwinger, Dimock

Licensed Practical Nursing

Amy Esh, Fulton

Light Truck Technology

Tanner Pulscher, Davis

Manufacturing & Machining

Jaxon Guenther, Crofton, NE

Medical Assistant

Elaina Houser, Mitchell

Medical Laboratory Technology

Travis Pollreisz, Mitchell

Medical Office Professional

Morgan Turner, Mitchell

Natural Gas Technology

Ely McCluskey, Newcastle, NE

Power Line Construction & Maintenance

Matthew Schnyer, Cheyenne, WY

Power Sports Technology-Motorcycle

Stephen Oyen, Salem

Power Sports Technology-Marine

Ruth Clemente Escalera, Loiza, Puerto Rico

Precision Ag Technology

Luke Masters, Mapleton, IA

Progressive Welding

Raymond Ketelsen, Box Elder

Radiation Therapy

Brianna Weis, Creston, IA

Radiologic Technology

Kelsie Anderson, New Underwood


Connor Wendland, Baltic

Wind Turbine Technology

Chandler Schopp, Lemmon

Back to News

Schedule a Visit

Personal Visit OR View Visit Days
Dynamic Pages
Chat Now